Ballou Motorsports

.::Welcome To Ballou Motorsports!::.

Home Page
Robert Ballou
The Team
Racing NewsRace Schedule
Photo Gallery
Sponsorship Opportunities
Racing Links
Contact Us


APRIL 16, 2007...The 2007 Lucas Oil USAC National Sprint Car Series opens this weekend at Lawrenceburg and Winchester, Ind. following postponements of last weekend’s races at North Vernon and Anderson, Ind.

Saturday’s night’s venue is the revamped Lawrenceburg Speedway and Sunday afternoon’s race is the prestigious “Rich Vogler Classic” at the storied Winchester Speedway. Both feature events are 30 laps.

Inclement weather forced postponement of last Saturday’s race at Twin Cities Raceway in North Vernon to Tuesday night, May 22 and Sunday’s Banjo 100 “Glen Niebel Classic” at Anderson Speedway to May 23.

Saturday’s Lawrenceburg entry includes 2006 Indiana Sprint Week King Jon Stanbrough, 2007 “The Copper” victory Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who scored a resounding upset in February’s race at Phoenix, Ariz., plus 2006 USAC/CRA Champion Damion Gardner, who pursues the National title this season.

Sunday’s Winchester spectacular has entries from seven-time “Little 500” champ Eric Gordon and three-time California Asphalt Sprint Car king Nick Green.

Both events feature former USAC Sprint Car Champs Tracy Hines, Levi Jones and Dave Darland, plus Winchester track record holder Dave Steele (128.333 mph). J.J. Yeley holds the 1-lap Lawrenceburg mark of 11.797 seconds he set in 2003.

Bryan Clauson won last year’s “Rich Vogler Classic,” a race which debuted in 1991 when Robbie Stanley scored the first of his three wins in the event (1991, 93 and 94). Other “Rich Vogler Classic” Sprint champs have included Jim Mahoney (1992), Kenny Irwin Jr. (1995), Andy Michner (1996-97), Chet Fillip (1998), Steele (1999 & 2002), Michael Lewis (2003) and Darland (2005). Ryan Newman won the 2000 race, an event not sanctioned by USAC. In 2001 and 2004 the “Rich Vogler Classic” was a Midget race, Teddy Beach the 2004 winner and Dane Carter taking the non-USAC-sanctioned 2001 race.